Skip to content

Guest Blogger: Empty Pockets

April 7, 2010

I’ve been dating this guy for the past several weeks and things have been going great. I hadn’t noticed until recently that our dating consisted solely of me going to his house and kicking it with him and his friends. One night I brought this situation to his attention and we agreed that we should go out.

So we did.

Once.

Then everything reverted back to house kick its.

The weekend was approaching and I asked him what we were going to do. His response, “I can’t take you out this week but I’m kind of short. Maybe next paycheck.” My ear cringed. How lazy could you possibly get? I’d rather a man take me for a nice picnic in the park or go for a long walk on the beach, then to tell me about what was not in his account. Both require little to no planning but just a little bit of effort. Is that asking for too much?

Since when is it okay for a man to fix their mouth to expose their financial situation in such a blunt and embarrassing manner. It’s clear to me that he thinks its okay to tell me our dates will be based on the amount of bills in his wallet. Ladies, if a man ever feels the need to utter such words, hang up the phone. It’s obvious that he is too lazy to even put his mind to trying to figure out something that you and he would both enjoy that is not expensive. How about this, use the brain that GOD gave you and figure it out.

Submitted by A.B.C. Analyst

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2010 8:32 am

    If you don’t have $$ to go on a “fancy” date, that’s one thing, but the fact that you won’t even take 5 minutes to plan a date to the park/zoo/river/street festival etc makes me feel you are lazy as hell and don’t deserve my time. Back in the day, everyone didn’t have a lot of disposable income for dates so they got creative with their outings. Smh, men will learn one day…

  2. April 7, 2010 10:10 am

    why can’t you be the one to plan a “low budget” date?

    teach by example.

  3. April 7, 2010 10:29 am

    definitely agree with both ABC & internal motive….sometimes we do have to lead by example to show people what we want or how things should be done HOWEVER, you are a grown @$$ man…if you know your financial situation you should also know how to handle your lifestyle….

  4. April 7, 2010 1:40 pm

    I get where ABC is coming from…I think in the courting stages she shouldn’t have to be the one to plan for his brokeness. He knows he is broke and instead of giving her the Kanye Shoulder Shrug he should figure out a way to still spend time with her in a meaningful way. On another note, I find it hard to believe a guy who seriously wants to date a woman is going to have her hanging out with him and his homies. It seems like he is trying to put as little effort as possible into the situation which is why he had no reservations about saying “MAYBE next paycheck”.

    I can say at the very least in LA, the guest list capital of the world, there are tons of things you can do on a budget. Women rarely have to pay to get into places so all he would have to do is pay for himself and a few drinks. If you can’t afford $40 on a date then you probably need to take yourself out the game lol.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

