Skip to content

Lies Women Tell: I have a boyfriend

August 5, 2009

Installment 1 of 5

You saw me walking down the street and decided I was cute and wanted to make your move. I turned around after you tapped my shoulder and after speaking to you for 1 minute I didn’t think you were worthy of anymore of my time. I could tell right away that we had nothing in common from those inital 60 seconds. In order to spare your feelings about you not being my type, I say to you “I have a boyfriend.”
 
The truth is that this is a complete lie- I haven’t had a boyfriend in 2 years. I am also sure that I am not the first and will not be the last woman to lie to you about my current relationship status. I decided I didn’t want to waste your time by giving you my number and never answering your calls, so I told a little white lie.
 
Why is it that you decide to respond with, “We can just be friends. I really just want to get to know you.” 
 
What the heck does that mean?
 
How can a male and a female who just met off the streets, just be friends? The answer is they can’t. How do you propose we become friends anyway? Go to the movies together, have a quick lunch here and there, isn’t that considered dating? At this moment I’ve already informed you that I was committed to someone else, so please don’t embarrass yourself any further. I’m not interested in getting to know you and NO I don’t want to be your friend.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2009 3:00 pm

    so what should be the guy’s response?

  2. August 5, 2009 3:28 pm

    These are a few responses I’ve recently heard to my little white lie

    Acceptable responses include: Oh your man is really lucky. It was nice meeting you anyway.
    Thanks for letting me know.

    Unacceptable responses include: B*** you weren’t that cute anyway or
    Does he make you happy?

  3. The Fantastic Four permalink
    August 5, 2009 3:34 pm

    Does it count as tit for tat ?? You have told him a little white lie, and he told you one as well.

    We can just be friends is the male equivalent, “I’m going to flirt with you constantly and as soon as you let your guard down (ie. break up with the boyfriend you don’t have) I’m going to try to jump your bones.”

  4. Kerry Crenshaw permalink*
    August 5, 2009 4:34 pm

    No… we’re saying we have a boyfriend because we do not want to talk to you. Boyfriend or not, that’s the universal code for please leave me alone.

    If you press us after that it’s not clever, it’s just thirsty. Especially if they say something like “are you happy?”

    I wish every dude who’s ever pressed a girl after she’s mentioned a bf would STOP just off the strength of how embarrassed I feel whenever I witness it happening.

  5. The Fantastic Four permalink
    August 6, 2009 3:25 am

    It might be code for that, but I feel like the “Just Friends” or even the “Are you happy” might be code for, I don’t care about your guy, I just wanna beat….

    I agree thirstness is at an all time high in the 09. In case you didn’t get the memo, dudes is hella wreckless in the 09.

  6. Detective Fro Face permalink
    August 6, 2009 10:50 pm

    After 60 secs yall have NOTHING in common? are you kidding me….that’s ridiculous! Just give a nigga a chance. Maybe the 61st second may bring that smile to your heart that you were looking for…..

    “I have a boyfriend” Why so generic? Just tell a nigga you arent interested. To make the situation worst you couldn’t even look me in the eye and say it. And on top of that you stuttered as you were trying to get those infamous words out.

    Im not calling anyone a bitch, but that’s a bitch move…. Be original! 🙂 I would rather hear some off the wall shit just to get a laugh while getting “rejected” it makes it that much better.

  7. Kerry Crenshaw permalink*
    August 7, 2009 12:43 am

    (lol @ Fantastic Four) low key that is what it’s code for and that’s another reason why it’s wack.

    Detective Fro Face: The “I have a boyfriend” line comes only when you’ve already done something in that first 60 seconds (or 5 mins) to turn us off… that was your chance.

    “I have a boyfriend” is often the easiest thing because if we say something to let you down easy… you keep trying… we make a joke… you keep trying… so we say we have a boyfriend (well even then you keep trying) but we say it in the hopes that you’ll just leave it at that.

  8. August 7, 2009 8:37 pm

    @ Detective Fro Face “After 60 secs yall have NOTHING in common? are you kidding me….that’s ridiculous! Just give a nigga a chance. Maybe the 61st second may bring that smile to your heart that you were looking for…..”

    It doesn’t take long for me to decide whether or not I’m interested in a guy. During the first 60 seconds, I’m gonna be rather shallow. Something about me must have caught your eye, but if nothing about you is keeping my attention, why should I take up anymore of your time. I’m not interested. I shouldn’t have to be funny when I say it, its a serious matter, move on.

    I will say this, the next time a guy I know I’m not interested in (that may mean I don’t think you’re cute!) I’ll simply say, “I’m not interested.”

  9. James permalink
    November 5, 2009 9:18 am

    I received the “I have a boyfriend” line just this week, although the situation was/is a bit different then the one presented here.

    She works close to where I do in a store that I frequent often for lunch, etc. Everytime we see eachother, we always exchange smiles (not subtle smiles, but big toothy smiles), and if I don’t say ‘Hi’ first, she does. We call each other by our names; she remembered mine just from my debit card.

    The fact that I asked her out earlier this week and she responded with “I have a boyfriend” hasn’t changed any of that. One thing that struck me as a bit odd is when I asked her out, I asked her out for coffee. After the “I have a boyfriend” statement, she then responded “Although coffee does sound really good right now.”

    Is that ‘code’ for something? Perhaps some kind of subconscious admission of sorts?

Leave a Reply

