Skip to content

Because we complain a lot here… here’s a tip for a change

August 6, 2009
by

My current dillemma with Mr. Sends-Texts-Out-of-the-Blue got me thinking about a conversation I had with friends a while back about women and how we don’t follow our own better judgment.

Fact #1 Women decide almost immediately whether or not they like a guy and how much. There are seldom times that a guy actually grows on us. We love to meet someone we’re instantly attracted to and subsequently romanticize the hell out of his image in our minds.

That being said, my friends and I have noticed that women react differently to the same behaviors from men depending on their pre-established feelings about the guy, usually based on their initial contact…

For example, one dude can call a girl late at night and she’s cool with it, another dude can call five minutes later (that she likes, just not as much) and she’s trying to figure out why in the hell ol’ boy thought a phone call during cut hours was ok. It’s not about girls having different standards (its never okay to call anyone who’s not a gf on the late night tip), or even about men following this complex set of rules that we outline-  its about how much we like you. Women make concessions for men they really like all the time.

For example, if a guy calls you all the time and you like him a lot you’re gonna tell your girls “Girl he’s so sweet he be callin me all the time…” and if you like him only a little it’ll sound more like, “Why the fuck is this nigga calling me all the time?”

Same dude, exact same behaviors, two different reactions based on feelings.

The idea seems simple enough but I actually said all that to say that first impressions are everything! Women (especially around here) may do a lot of complaining about stupid things that guys do but honestly at the end of the day there aren’t any steadfast rules or guidelines because often times when we like someone too much, we let all of the rules go out of the window.

So ladies, try to remember to not let the “rules” and common sense go out of the window (like me) just because you’ve fallen hard in like.

And guys if you really want to get that girl get things going on a positive note  initially because once she’s ignoring your calls, friend-zoning you, or feeling annoyed by you it might already be too late.  Ya’ll may want to take notes from Mr. Texts because he had me at hello…. sigh

::updates blog and goes on to making more poor decisions regarding Mr. Texts::

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2009 5:03 am

    I agree with all of the above. Acknowledging first that I am a strong independent women, I have been guilty of the “he made me weak when we met” giggles. Where no matter what he did, because I thought we had such a strong intial connection, he could do no wrong.

    SMH at myself for know that it will happen again. I want it all…especially the spark. I don’t want to have to work for it…I always say it should be there. And if its not there, I won’t work for it….\he’ll be placed in the friend zone…whose phone call will only be answered when I bored outta my mind.

    Am I wrong when its always “there” with someone who probably doesn’t deserve it, maybe. will that stop me in the future? Heck no, I love the giggles!

  2. Detective Fro Face permalink
    August 6, 2009 11:21 pm

    Hello

  3. Kerry Crenshaw permalink*
    August 7, 2009 12:44 am

    lol

  4. August 8, 2009 2:54 am

    “Fact #1 Women decide almost immediately whether or not they like a guy and how much. There are seldom times that a guy actually grows on us. We love to meet someone we’re instantly attracted to and subsequently romanticize the hell out of his image in our minds.”

    dope….. on point

Trackbacks

  1. Things guys do wrong when trying to holler « I Hate the Way You Eat Cereal

Leave a Reply

