Skip to content

Warning: RED FLAG!

August 7, 2009

Some things you don’t want to hear during a first date/conversation:

1) I have a kid(s).

2) I just got out (of jail that is).

3) I’m not looking for a relationship.

Surprisingly, # 3 ranks higher for me than the other 2 considering I haven’t had to deal with #1 or #2 (thank God).

When you first hear those words you either think:

“Cool neither am I” -(pause) this is actually a trap that us women set for ourselves. Just because you both feel the same way now does not mean your feelings won’t change, trust me if you’re feeling him- they will.

or

“Damnit I am  but I’m sure his feelings will change” -(pause) if you are a grown ass woman you should know this is never the case, even if you think your situation is an exception… it’s NOT.

So the next time you’re on a date and you hear those words find the nearest exit, run as fast as you can in the opposite direction (preferably after the meal), and don’t look back!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Detective Fro Face permalink
    August 6, 2009 11:27 pm

    “I’m not looking for a relationship” doesn’t mean that one wont blindside “me.” (isn’t that how love works, or is that just in all those cheesy movies we refuse to watch with yall?)

  2. Grace Adler permalink*
    August 7, 2009 9:17 am

    Good for you! But I was speaking of the general population of men who make that statement and are pretty adamant about not wanting a relationship. Which I believe have a lot to do with SiSi’s post about things men do while dating 1) they keep their options open 2) they don’t rush into a relationship…Oh how I wish love happened the way it does in the movies lol

Leave a Reply

