Skip to content

Say what?

August 27, 2009
by

I already talked about how the movies have been selling us dreams but I wanted to make sure that I pointed out that they’re not the only ones. Some of these so-called male R&B artists have been trying to sell us on the idea that it’s cool to be a jump off. Here’s a short list of some of these songs that had me rockin’ until I actually paid attention to what they were really saying.

Musiq Soulchild “Buddy”

But, but wait, let me explain it/a buddy is an equal beneficial arrangement/a buddy is a buddy that don’t be complaining/when his or her buddy ain’t the buddy they came wit.

I mean, I’m all for chill relationships but that’s not really what Musiq is talking about here. This is a song about “cut-friends” disguised re-packaged in the familiar R&B love song format. And to think, we thought Musiq was one of the good ones!

Ne-Yo “Because of You”

I need it when I want it/I want it when I don’t/tell myself I’ll stop everyday, knowin’ that I won’t/I got a problem and I don’t know what to do about it/Even if I did, I don’t know if I would quit but I doubt it I’m/taken by the thought of it.

Is it all because of me? Or all because of your side piece? The song didn’t say it expressly so but after watching Ne-Yo chase around another woman in the video I realized that he wasn’t singing about his wifey.

Trey Songz “Last Time”

I’m living two different lives/one girl in the day you at night/and even though it ain’t right/I just can’t get enough/of the way you put it down/you really got me trippin’/hold up baby girl just listen/this is the last time.

Of course Trigga made the list. If you download and listen to any15  items from his “Song Book” you’ll be taken on a ghetto love tale from places like the club (“Put Your Number in My Phone”), to the bedroom “Denny’s”  (“Grub On”), to the corner store (“Store Run”) and everywhere in between.

Fabolous “Can’t Let You Go”

She’s my pinch hitta/when the startin lineup ain’t playin right/I come off the bench wit her/It might sound like I’m gassin ya/but it took time to get from the back seat to the passenger… but I know the boutiques and shops you run through/so I cop her one and cop you one too.

Any song that starts off with “Babygirl, you know my situation…” should never be confused with a traditional love song. Yet and still I sung along with Lil Mo on the hook for a cool minute before I really paid attention to how trife this song’s message was.

It’s crazy how R&B songs used to make people fall in love- nowthey’re being used to keep side checks quiet. I guess jump-offs need love too?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Nadi permalink
    September 4, 2009 8:51 pm

    I have some advice — listen to the accapella versions — perspective as first sight!

Leave a Reply

