Skip to content

Check Yes or No

September 15, 2009

i-love-you-but-i-m-not-in-love-with-you-769403[1]During the initial courting phase I always seem to have a silent battle going on between my desire to let things happen naturally and my tendency to constantly control pending relations. I also recognize that another one of my dating flaws -my lack of patience- keeps resurfacing in conjunction with it.

On one hand I never rush anyone into expressing their emotions but I also don’t like feeling like I’m wasting my time and my impatience often gets the best of me.
 
After a few months of dating this one guy, I noticed that he was unavailable emotionally. His actions would show how interested he was: he was very consistent, reliable, and was always doing things to show me he cared. BUT (of course there’s a but) I couldn’t for the life of me get him to vocalize his emotions. There were a number of times where I would lay my heart on the line and the only response I would get was:
 
I’m not ready to tell you yet… it’s too hard… and blah blah blah.
 
Should I send him a note that says check yes if you like me or no if you don’t?  When is the right time for me to say, “eat shit and die?” “I can’t deal with this anymore?” How do I know when it’s really time to throw in the towel?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

