Skip to content

A Shy Girls Guide to Flirting

December 16, 2009

If you haven’t noticed by now I’m the shyer one out the Cereal Daters. Prime example: I’m not shy so I asked for the digits.  My idea of flirting is as follows: stare at the guy while he isn’t looking, finger with my blackberry till he notices me, approaches me, and strikes up a conversation. So I turned to one of my guy friends for help. Here are a few tips he gave me for all you shy girls out there:

1) Put the Crackberry Down– Make your self available to be approached. Guys don’t want to intrude while you’re texting/twittering at 60 wpm. Also it’s just rude!

2) Make eye contact-You see a guy you’re interested in, let him know you see him. Don’t stare but give him a quick glance, maybe even a double take.

3) Smile– Even if you don’t have anything to smile about it, I’ve heard men say most women are more attractive when they smile. So do it 🙂

4) Ask Questions-Even if you can’t think of anything besides how cute he is, ask him where he’s from, what he does, where did he go to school i.e. resume questions.

5) If all else fails, DRINK!-You will have no problem with steps 1-4

As trivial as these things seem to us, to a man these are the green lights to approach a female. Remember you’ve got to give a little to get a little.

Happy Flirting 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2009 12:40 pm

    I love this. Surprisingly for my extroverted self, I’m as shy as they come when it comes to flirting and inviting the approach. My friends tried schooling me on “the look” (see #2) and even then… my shy eyes slide away JUST before anyone might possibly think I’m interested. LOL

    I’ve been wanting to write about how to flirt shy, but not having mastered it… its been languishing in my drafts folder for a while… 🙂

  2. December 16, 2009 1:49 pm

    lol i really needed this advice. i’m so bad at sending the right signals :p 🙂

  3. December 16, 2009 7:08 pm

    Number 2 & 3 are the best ways to give guys the green light.

    Once I was helping a girlfriend practice flirting before our trip to the Caribbean. We were at a restaurant and a guy was looking at her across the bar. She glanced at him briefly and smiled. The next thing we knew, he came over to meet her!

  4. December 22, 2009 1:50 pm

    #2 and #3 work like a charm. Guys LOVE it when a hot chick gives them a second glace. The way their face lights up like “I can’t believe she was she just looking at me like that” is classic. I would also suggest walking by them…many men are too scared to come over to you, but just by you being in their vicinity if they are interested they will likely approach you.

Leave a Reply

