Skip to content

5 Minutes

February 5, 2010

It only takes me 5 minutes to decide if I’m interested in a guy. I know that sounds crazy but it’s true. I just got off the phone with this guy and within the first 5 minutes I knew I wasn’t interested. He was talking and I was listening. Then he kept talking and I lost all interest. While he kept talking, I removed the phone from my ear and plotted my way out of our conversation. I picked up the receiver and he was still talking. He didn’t even know I was gone. I had a strong desire to interrupt his long-winded story to tell him I was no longer interested in finding out any further information. But I knew it wasn’t appropriate. He spent another 10 minutes talking about…well I don’t remember because I was busy jumping navigating my Social Networking Site. Lucky for me he had to get off the phone first to finish something up. He asked would I be awake later. “No” I replied, “I’ll be sleep by 10pm.” The lie flowed through my lips so effortlessly. Anyone who knows me knows I’m an insomniac and can’t go to sleep before midnight.

If only I could get those 5 minutes of my life back…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Bryan permalink
    February 5, 2010 8:57 am

    This reminded me of a conversation I had with a friend the other day. He repeated the claim that a woman decides if she’ll sleep with you in the first five minutes of a date. I argue that’s an oversimplification. As a guy it can be obvious within five minutes that I would not I want to sleep with her. But the opposite isn’t true. A woman can be in the maybe column for quite a while. Lol.

    Just wondering if this true for you.
    ~Bryan

    • February 5, 2010 11:54 am

      I don’t know after 5 minutes if I would sleep with a guy. I know after 5 minutes if I want to learn more about them and possibly end up sleeping together. I hardly ever imagine myself having sex with a guy I just met. Unless he is so fine I just can’t help but imagine him without clothes. That’s rare though.

  2. February 8, 2010 2:01 pm

    5 minutes? You’re a tough cookie! I used to be super stringent on the simplest things like giving out my numbers. The words “I have a boyfriend” when guys asked me for my number flowed out so easily, but at the end of one year I realized I had only given my number out to 2 guys out of the hundreds (and I’m not exaggerating) that approached me. That was way extreme since at least some of those guys had to be date-able. So I learned to not take myself so seriously and actually give guys who seemed reasonable my number. Moral of the story…if you are writing guys off in 5 minutes you might be eliminating some pretty good guys. It may seem like you just know what you want and what you don’t want…but I don’t think it’s possible to determine all that someone brings to the table in such a short period of time.

    • February 8, 2010 3:59 pm

      That sounds fair but trust me…I give my number out plenty. If I told you how many first dates I had in 2009, you wouldn’t believe. That’s why I don’t think I’m being too harsh. First impressions stick with me and if you aren’t memorable in those first 5 minutes I’m done talking to you. Or if you strike a nerve for the wrong reason, I’m done before we begin. You’re right though..I am unapologetically tough.

      FYI: Two times in one year was a bit extreme.

Leave a Reply

