Skip to content

Guest Blogger: The Ugliness Threshold

February 16, 2010

Ladies, what if a guy was to come up to you and, with all seriousness, say to you “Excuse me miss, I like your booty.” How would you react? Would you be instantly offended? Would you want to slap him? Walk away as quickly as possible? Or would you…give him your number?

I know there are a lot of people out there that sincerely think there is no possible way the last option could EVER happen. “How could I let someone disrespect me like that and me still entertain it?”

And the answer is simple. Its only disrespectful if he’s ugly. Now I know nobody wants to think of themselves as shallow or the like, but at the end of the day, before you know anything about a person who approaches you for the first time is whether or not he could GTD (Get Tha Drawls, for those who don’t watch Martin.) Further, at the end of the day, attractive people can get away with WAYYYYY more than unattractive people, scientific fact (well, maybe, I don’t think scientists do this kinda thing.) At the end of the day, if he’s fine, almost anything he says initially, will not be held against him. Later on, after you get past the exterior, you might be kinda mad that you got roped in with such underhanded tactics.

Now if he was blatantly disrespectful, “Ay b!tch, that’s a nice ass.” There is probably little to no chance it could ever work for anyone. But the theory behind “Excuse me miss, I like your booty,” could be that there is no real difference between that and saying he liked your smile, given that he couldn’t see you smile from behind. Conversely, there are many people who could be more insulting with a typically complimented feature “Ay, yo eyes green than a muh f^cka,” shows an overall lack of intellegence that I would think MOST upstanding women would tolerate.

In the end, I think the standing theory is, and will continue to be……….. “But he fine though.” Just my thoughts.

~Submitted by Mr. Fantastic alias Mr. Not-to-shabby-my-damn-self

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2010 3:33 pm

    This sounds like wishful thinking. I will agree that attractive people in general get away with a lot more…but “Excuse me miss I like your booty” isn’t just offensive it’s corny as hell. If you are going to go the sexual route at least have the balls to say “nice ass”.

    I think men don’t understand that their success with approaching women or being able to get away with certain things has less to do with their own traits and more to do with where the woman’s head is. If she is in an adventurous more light-hearted stage then she might not be totally appalled at outrageous comments. If she is all business about settling down then no amount of cuteness is going to get you through the front door when you say something stupid.

  2. February 17, 2010 10:47 am

    I second everything Reecie said. Disrespectful comments will not go over well with me, ever. Cute or not. BUT lack of intelligence might get a pass if I’m in ‘he only has to be cute’ stage. Which I feel like I may be getting back into.

  3. Mr. Fantastic permalink
    February 22, 2010 10:31 am

    But I think the point is more to the random, just giving a phone-number, he’s just gotta be cute type situation. The phrase itself is just an example, and honestly, many girls have and will continue to allow a dude to be corny if he’s cute enough.

  4. Kerry Crenshaw permalink*
    February 23, 2010 1:37 pm

    This is only true for young girls. Ladies, remember back in high school when all you cared about was how fine he was? Yeah, the majority of us grew out of that in one way or another Mr. Fantastic.

    While what you’re saying is still slightly true, women are kind of more receptive to attractive men- looks only get you so far and mostly they can’t get you to places personality gets you, so shouldn’t the playing field be level?

    Actually who cares… I’m looking for the cutie with the personality anyway. Who says I only get one or the other? I want both!

Leave a Reply

