Skip to content

Uhh, Maybe?

April 30, 2010

My girl was home chatting (text messaging of course, you know they weren’t actually talking on the phone) with this guy she was casually seeing one Tuesday after what she told him she had had an exhausting day at work. They had been seeing each other for a couple of months and things weren’t really going in any direction. For her the sparks weren’t flying but she was comfortable around him, so she kept him around. He knew that she would be having a tough week so he proposed dinner and a movie for that Friday evening at his home. Unfortunately, he was obviously a lot more interested in her than she as in him. She told him, “Maybe. I have to check my calendar because I’m not sure. But that does sound like a good idea. I think I might come.”

Red Flag on the play!!! This man offered to make her a free meal and rent a movie. All she had to do was show up and enjoy.  Lets dissect their conversation.

Maybe. I have to check my calendar because I am not sure.

What he’s thinking: Man she is one busy woman. I hope she can find time for me in her schedule.

What she’s thinking: If nothing better comes up I guess it wouldn’t kill me. It was only Tuesday, plenty of time for her to find something else to do that she would actually be interested in.

That sounds like a good idea. I think I might come.

What he’s thinking: I hope she’s not too tired from this week. I really like her and I want to make her feel special.

What she’s thinking:  I don’t have the balls to tell you I am not interested so I’m going to string you along until you get the hint.

Lets remix this scenario and pretend he offered her a free all expense trip to Dubai for a week. Do you think she would have said maybe? Hell no. Or lets pretend that she actually really liked the guy and he asked her to help him wash his feces covered dog, if she really likes him she’ll blurt out a yes before he finishes asking. More times than not, maybe is the cowards way of saying no.  She was already at home for the evening, she could have checked her “calendar” that very moment. Instead she bought herself a couple days before she made the commitment to give him her Friday.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 1, 2010 6:21 pm

    i promise i’ve been that guy before. just waiting around for a woman to possibly find time in her schedule to spend time with me. i know that that will never happen again. like the great philosopher gucci mane said: “girls are like buses, miss one? next 15 one coming.”

Leave a Reply

