Skip to content

Anything worth having…

May 12, 2010
by

…Is worth working for.

If I had a dollar for every time I’ve heard a story about a guy complaining that a woman was treating him like he’s the ex I’d have enough money to get these Louboutins I’ve dreamt about then use the leftover money to build a condo with a huge shoe closet to place them in.

I understand guys who have good intentions who complain about this… Its annoying. I mean if every person you date automatically keeps their guard up and treats you like you aren’t about shit that must be frustrating.

But what about the guys with bad intentions who are using it as well? Trust me, it happens.

This is one of the most overused phrases in the history of dating that men use against women. So forgive us if your pleas and reasoning fall on deaf ears.

Especially since:

1. At one point or another you were likely the cause of some woman throwing up the barbed wire fence and armed guards around her heart. Someone has to be responsible for this rash of wounded women right?

2. …And if you aren’t one of those guys you should at least be sympathetic.

My homegirl recently told me that her new man had this very same complaint about her. “You’re treating me like I did something to you. I’m not your ex blah blah blah” bullshit, bullshit, bullshit.

My girl is worried that her guy is going to break up with her… I told her to stay strong. Of course men want all your love and trust from jump (as do we) but that doesn’t mean they deserve it. Its earned.

Anything worth having is worth working for. If he’s that dude he’ll stick it out and if he’s deserving then you can let your guard down. Slowly.

No need to rush… No matter how bad he makes you feel about it.I recently learned this lesson the hard way…

**Note: I’m not advocating any insecure, paranoid, hyper aggressive brand of distrust… I’m just saying guards are a necessary evil.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jane permalink
    May 12, 2010 8:36 am

    Well said. 🙂

Leave a Reply

