Skip to content

Little Blue Box

June 22, 2010

Have you tried buying a gift for a guy who had everything? Well thats the dilemma I had until I heard what one of my girlfriends bought for a dude she was talking to: a money clip. Not just any money clip but one that comes in a little blue box. At that time I was in a serious relationship and it was his first birthday while we were together so naturally I wanted to get him something good. So I took my friends advice and got him an engraved money clip.

We aren’t together anymore. And come to think of it, my friends relationships with those guys they bought money clips for, did fare so well either….

Lisa heard what I got for my boyfriend and wanted to do the same for hers. He loved it of course. Result, they aren’t together anymore and she currently has a restraining order against him.

Jessica was dating an NFL player and wanted to show him that she could give an expensive gift, to a guy who literally had everything. Mind you he could by hundreds of money clips along with all the other jewelry in the store. She was so excited when she found out he actually used it. Result, he just knocked up baby momma #1 and him and Jessica aren’t on speaking terms.

Grace – In my younger days (last year) I was also dating a professional athlete and wanted to surprise him with a gift for his bday as well. Since he was in a different state I mailed him his money clip. Result, I found out he was semi-married. Long story don’t ask. After the dust settled he asked me if I wanted him to give it back. I said no but I still wonder to this day if he even uses it and what wifey thinks of an engraved gift given to him by another woman. Oh well.

I’m not saying the money clip was a bad gift idea I’m just saying its the common denominator in these failed relationships. I’m not dating anyone right now but If I was and it was his birthday I can tell you what I’m not getting him.

Ladies what’s a good gift to give a guy that your dating? And men what kinds of gifts would you like to get from a woman?

——

If you have been enjoying the ride so far please go nominate us in the 2010 Black Weblog Awards. Just click here and nominate The Cereal Daters for the Blog to Watch category. Simply enter our url: https://ihatethewayyoueatcereal.wordpress.com to cast your vote.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. The Professional permalink
    June 22, 2010 10:57 am

    I think that some women can really over think this matter. I know for a fact, myself and other men in my circle (no matter the race), love the following:
    – Watch(es) this requires even more effort on the woman’s part however, she will need to pay attention to (and know) the type of face he likes, band material, brands he likes or shys from, readout type etc.
    *more meaningful if a woman can select the “right” watch
    – Shoes in order to pull this off succesfully, again the woman will really have to pay close attention

    • The Professional permalink
      June 22, 2010 11:07 am

      >Continued due to PC error (*need to invest in a MAC)
      to her man’s style, if he wears tennis shoes, prefers loafers, or casual kicks. This gift is safest as a suprise. A nice stroll through an outdoor mall and a quick purchase or two.
      – Movie(s) for the artistic or creative type. Again more attention required, however this is a creativity bonus with instant gratification points available. If he happens to be a huge fan of certain film director try getting a box set of some exclusive releases.

      Maybe what I’m sayin is men require the same attention to details in regards to gifts as women. I’ve heard many female friends try the easy out, just to get it over with. But to be genuine, you must know the man and his interests to really make a mark, and not just give him a gift that may be convenient or handy for him to use.

      • June 22, 2010 2:34 pm

        Good reply. If I ever decide to by a man something, it will have genuine thought behind it because I’d want the same effort put into my gift.

  2. Jane permalink
    June 23, 2010 8:48 am

    Tattoo’s and money clips = relationship demise. Noted.

  3. June 23, 2010 10:35 am

    I never bought a money clip, I did do engraved T&Co cuff links and even though we aren’t together, we lasted another year & a half post-blue box and we parted on amicable terms…

  4. Kerry Crenshaw permalink*
    June 24, 2010 5:35 am

    “Tattoo’s and money clips = relationship demise. Noted.”

    LMAO @ Jane

Leave a Reply

