Skip to content

“Facebook” Relationship

July 28, 2010


Maybe I’m hating because I don’t have a boyfriend right now, but “Facebook” relationships annoy the hell out of me! And I don’t know who’s worse the guys or the girls. First it’s the changing of the relationship status, I’m ok with that letting it be known that you are taken. But Facebook takes it a step further to allow you to include a link to the page of the person you are in a relationship with. This is the part that makes me a little uncomfortable just because I think about all the girls who are going to visit my page out nosiness, jealously, or just to hate.

Next are the mushy pictures. Notice I say “mushy” pictures because I happen to be infatuated with one couple in particulars pictures on Facebook because they travel a lot and do some awesome things (no mushiness included). But I despise, hate, can’t stand kissing pictures. It just looks tacky to me. Yes, please show me more of you and your boyfriend sucking face (read sarcasm)

And finally status messages, this is where the relationship gets tricky. I’ve seen couples go back and forth and have a full on argument via status messages. This is just ignorant. No one wants to hear about your “Melanie and Derwin” drama. Unless it’s going to air on the CW get canceled, only to be picked up by BET.

If or when I get a boyfriend, Facebook will not be subjected to my relationship on a daily basis. I will keep it short and sweet. Relationship Status: In a relationship and it’s none of your business

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Jane permalink
    July 28, 2010 10:59 am

    Amen

  2. Mr. Fantastic permalink
    July 28, 2010 1:33 pm

    But worse than FB Relationship arguments is FB Jumpoff arguments. When the dude/female says something to someone else and the Jumpoff forgets their place and gets all flagrant on the FB page. Because not only do we now know all your business, but we can also probably figure out why he won’t put a status on it. (The first logical step toward putting a ring on it, of course)

    Other than that, I think that its cool to have the status up, and to have a face to it and all. Because with so many different ways for the sideline hoes to reach out to your partner, you need to block em out with the “Spoken For” sign. Meh. Either way.

    *Goes to make mushy FB status*

    • Grace Adler permalink*
      July 28, 2010 2:02 pm

      LOL a Jumpoff commenting on anything is just outrageous. I think its cool and extremely rare for dudes to change their facebook status without the corrosion of their new girlfriend. But I’d just rather he not attach my name to it. If we are together I’d rather just our friends and family know and not all of facebook.

      • Mr. Fantastic permalink
        July 28, 2010 4:47 pm

        Yeah but then your cousins or whomever can’t be like, “You finna be married, I didn’t even know you was dating someone” because you can reply “It was all on FB.”

  3. eclectikchic permalink
    July 28, 2010 7:11 pm

    I agree. It gets on my nerves also and it seems as if they have the on again, off again love affair. I hate the subliminal statuses about an ex or baby daddy. LOL! And the “it’s complicated” status. Does that mean that both of you may be on the market soon? LOL!

    • Mr. Fantastic permalink
      July 29, 2010 2:20 pm

      Its complicated = We been fuckin’ for a while, but I can still go out with other people OR we broke up but we still sleep together on the weekends.

  4. desiresinspiration permalink
    August 1, 2010 1:26 pm

    I completely, 100% agree with this. I have a husband/wife on my friends list and they nauseate me with their constant mushiness on each others comments. I swear I contemplate deleting them. This is your HUSBAND , do you have to write on facebook that you miss him and can’t wait to see him at home .. #overkill …

Leave a Reply

