Skip to content

Say My Name

August 12, 2010
by

Let’s say you’re dating a guy/girl and some how realize that they have you stored in their phone under another name. Not a pet name, not a variation of your own name, not a well known nickname but something just completely random like oh let’s say Peter if you’re a guy and Tiffany if you’re a girl… What would you think?

An e-mail forwarded from his cell phone snitched on him and I found out that I was stored under another name. Now before I got mad or anything I asked him:

Kerry: “What do you have me stored in your phone as?”
Him: “KC”
Kerry: “Are you sure?”
Him: “Yeah, it’s KC…”
Kerry: Ok

Now before I was even allowed to let the situation go. I really truly was… and just wash my hands of the situation altogether. I see that his audibly frantic trackball scrolling session has resulted in him discovering that alas… I was stored as “Tiffany.” Right.

Kerry: “Why?”
Him: *Gives some ignorant answer so foolish, unsatisfying, and off topic that I don’t even remember it*
Kerry: “But why?????”
Him: Because I don’t like people in my business…

And then he spent forever and one day trying to explain to me why it “wasn’t like that.”

Ladies, fellas, weigh in (even though I already know the answer) What do you think he was trying to do? Is there any plausible explanation? I just need to know that the age old adage “when there’s smoke there’s fire” still applies.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Hollywood_JS permalink
    August 12, 2010 7:48 am

    In most case I feel it has to do with trying to remember the person the best way possible. I know personally, when I get a number in social situations most times by the time we get to exchanging numbers i’ve already made up some type of nick name for the person to store them under or ill just pass them the phone and let them put their name in. After a few conversations with that person ill change it to their real name if i’m not being lazy. Thanks to blackberry tho, now ill just put the first letter of a persons name if I don’t remember and then write something in the note section of the contact info that will jog my memory but wont show up when sending a message as stated in the post.

    Keep up the great work, love the site.

  2. Jane permalink
    August 12, 2010 8:47 am

    I often change the name of the people in my phone.
    Mostly for the fact if my phone was stolen, I don’t need Mr. Thief calling up my contacts trying to get more infor on me. Identity theft is common with cell phones, its a start.

    Aside from protecting my identity and my friends, I’ll use last names, or nicknames for almost everyone in my phone. But never change their name completely. Chawny to Tiffany etc.

    His actions are one of guilt.

    I have male friends who have told me they put me under a guys name in their phone, cos the g/f snoops and they simply do not want to explain or defend having female friends.
    This reason is okay for me, since I’m not invovled with any man of any kind that has a spouse. So she can put me under whatever name he wishes.

    Now should the tables be turned and MY MAN did it, unless he has given me a reason to be suspisious I wouldnt care.

    But then again I have bullshit radar so strong that it can not be penetrated by his weak jedi powers to convince me othewise.

    Before his email snitched on him, has he given you any reason to think he’s not being faithful? If your gut is anything but 100% confident he’s faithful, then he’s probably not. Move on.

    There are my two cents. Do what you will with them. 🙂

  3. Grace Adler permalink*
    August 12, 2010 8:52 am

    So obviously this guy doesn’t want a girl to know that you guys talk. Smooth move on his part by sending you an e-mail with your contact name lol. If he has to hide who he talks to from this girl, what does that say about his relationship with her? No trust is what it says, he knows she goes through his phone on the regular. I’m adding this to the list of how dudes get caught up btw.

    https://ihatethewayyoueatcereal.wordpress.com/2010/07/29/how-dudes-get-caught-up/

  4. August 12, 2010 9:22 am

    he’s clearly trying to hide something. i don’t have time to be remembering different names/aliases in my phone book. matter of fact my address book in my phone has first and last names listed. i know a lot of people with the same name and i don’t have time to be calling/texting the wrong person.

  5. Kerry Crenshaw permalink*
    August 12, 2010 9:29 am

    Oh and one of our Twitter followers brought up a good point:

    @iamrandyz I just don’t get why he’d change it to another womans name..why not use a unisex name? RT @CerealDaters

    My answer: Because it’s not about girls… it’s about people knowing it’s me. My real name is actually unisex. So changing it in his phone actually made it feminine.

  6. Kerry Crenshaw permalink*
    August 12, 2010 7:03 pm

    @iamrandyz then there is probably someone else in the equation who knows you & doesn’t like him talking to you, therefore the name change RT @CerealDaters

  7. August 13, 2010 9:30 am

    He’s a liar…the end.

  8. August 18, 2010 12:54 am

    I am actually guilty of this. It’s not to be secretive or undercover about anything. I’ll generally place a random name for a female in my phone. It helps me remember in a way *shrugs*. The case is usually due to there already being someone with the same name already in my phone. If this is the case, I don’t want to put you down as Kate #2. So I might throw you in by Tiffny. Random, weird, and not entirely sensible but by no means malicious.

    Riley ‘My Intelligence is Sexy’ Escobar

Leave a Reply

