Skip to content

Dating Report Card: Drunk Edition

August 19, 2010

I went on a date last night and got drunk to say the least. I had a good time but how can you not have a good time with Patron Margaritas? How and why did this happen you ask?

I met Tony through a mutual friend during a little get together the night before our date (I know he moves fast). After the event was over and everyone was preparing to leave he hit me with the smoothest or oldest trick in the book line.

“Hey I have to be to work early in the morning so can you call and wake me up?”

Before my dumbass could remember that it’s 2010 and cell phones have had alarms for as long as I can remember, except for those Zack Morris phones, I was giving him my digits. He BBM’d (a BlackBerry Messenger application) me later that night and told me we wanted to go out the next day for drinks but that he had to work late so our date would be scheduled sometime after 10pm. I obliged with a little reservation, I had never really been on a first date “just for drinks.” I picked him up from his place (which was very nice might I add).

Creativity: B

He lived near plenty of bars and restaurants and we decided on the one with the 2 for 1 drinks.

Chemistry: B-

He was cuter than I remembered and a little more touchy feely than I’m used to on a first date. But it wasn’t enough for me to call him out on it. We had standard first date conversation; who, what, where, when, and how questions. Nothing spectacular.

Chivalry: C

There weren’t any chairs to pull out or doors to open but he did order for us.

Punctuality: C-

He made me wait downstairs for him for at least 15 mins.

Place of Origin: D

He’s from LA but he went to high school in the IE (Inland Empire *cringes*). For our non LA based readers the IE is where all the LA rejects live. My apologies to our IE readers, not for my previous insult but because you grew up there. I’m definitely grateful he is not an “LA guy”, but the IE isn’t much better.

Overall: B-

About half way through my first Patron Margarita (we had 3 each) I realized I was tipsy and this was probably one of the best dates I’d been on in a while, or probably the drunkest I’ve been on a date ever.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Kerry Crenshaw permalink*
    August 19, 2010 8:35 am

    Still trying to figure out how you ended up drunk on a date… although another one of my friends just told me that she’d recently done the same.

  2. icecoldjd1906 permalink
    August 19, 2010 9:32 am

    yall are a mess. IE home of the LA rejects. I cant deal. I say good job on having a first date for drinks after 10pm. I guess the question i have is how did the date end? kinda drunk, touchy feely, hmm…

    • Grace Adler permalink*
      August 19, 2010 9:48 am

      LoL it ended with both of us sleeping in our own beds.

  3. August 19, 2010 9:47 am

    This sounds like the most unsafe date…how you getting drunk with strangers?

    • Grace Adler permalink*
      August 19, 2010 9:53 am

      We were at a bar with lots of people and I drove so I wasn’t in too much danger. But I will say driving home slightly tipsy isn’t the safest. But I wasn’t letting my tipsiness give him an excuse to invite me in to “rest”.

      • Kerry Crenshaw permalink*
        August 19, 2010 10:59 am

        Yeah you’re just irresponsible, driving all drunk and whatnot. Bet he didn’t expect that… he was trying to get it crackin lol #YellowFlag

  4. icecoldjd1906 permalink
    August 19, 2010 10:38 am

    yes it was unsafe but it is always good to hear you found a good drinking buddy.

  5. August 19, 2010 11:04 pm

    Hmmm…was the date good b/c the drinks were good or b/c he actually had decent convo 😉 Although I probably wouldn’t have agreed to go on a first date after 10pm your first date actually sounded fun!

Leave a Reply

