Skip to content

Don’t Want No Short Short Man

September 8, 2010

It must suck to be a short man (under 5 ‘9″**) in this world. Seriously after Sunday night, I feel for you. After seeing how this man was treated, I just wanted to take off my heels and pass them to all the Napoleons out there. Let me start from the beginning…

According to Grace and several other friends, I have a tendency to talk to anyone with a pulse, especially when I’m in the club. In my defense, even though I am hardly ever interested in pursuing anything outside the confines of the flashing lights and blasting music, I don’t see any harm in friendly conversation. In my opinion, it would be rude if I ignored men just because I couldn’t see myself doing the horizontal with them. Hell, I wouldn’t talk to many people if I were restricted to those strict standards. So, if you catch me out and you have something interesting to say, I’ll lend an open ear.

Being that it was Labor Day weekend and I wouldn’t have to pull myself out of bed at the crack of dawn, I decided to go out Sunday night. A couple of my girls knew of a Labor Day celebration (without the all-white requirement thank goodness). I invited my sister along for the ride and off we went.

As is typical for a club in L.A., we noticed immediately that the male patrons were vertically challenged.  Being that myself and one of my girls are 6 ‘4” with heels on, my sister is close behind reaching 6 ‘2” with her stilettos, and Grace is, well she prefers tall men, it was looking that it was going to be one of those nights. After a “fat” man, Nadia’s words not mine, invited us over to his bottle service, the night was looking up. Her actual words were and I quote, “Hey that fat guy invited us over drinks.”  Free alcohol and a comfortable place to sit made the chubby man’s offer promising.

As we were sitting down sipping and talking to each other, our conversation was interrupted by a Gary Coleman look-a-like. (Gary, I’m going to call him that for the purpose of this story if you don’t mind, told me he was the average height- 5’10″… and since most guys lie about their height he was probably actually 5 ‘7” 5 ‘8” but with my heels on he didn’t even reach my shoulders) Apparently he was the cousin of the chubster and wanted to introduce himself. After greetings, he took a seat next to me of course. It didn’t even dawn on me that he was interested in anything more than conversation until he told me he was attracted to me. Pause. What did he want me to do with that information? I brushed off his slight advances and continued to listen to him go on and on about himself, his career and all of the celebrities he had dated (I hate L.A. men for this reason by the way). You think I care you dated Tyra Banks because…[fill in stupid response that makes no sense because I don’t actually give a rat’s ass].

After my sister noticed that I was stuck with a shadow, she invited me to the dance floor. Being that he was now physically attached to my hip, Gary decided to tag along. As we made our way through the crowds of people, I kept losing sight of Gary. I saw him on his tippy toes a couple of times as he tried to keep up with our long strides. This man got absolutely no respect. Since he was nothing but nice to us the entire time, I didn’t see any harm in dancing with him. It wasn’t like I was really doing anything else and its nice to have a partner on the dance floor sometimes. Unfortunately for him, other men weren’t letting that happen. A guy spotted me and started talking to me in my ear as I danced with Gary. The entire time Gary looked confused so I told the guy I wasn’t interested. Either he didn’t hear me over the loud music, or he just didn’t care, but he decided he was going to dance with me too. Now I was standing in the middle of the dance floor dancing with both a startled Gary and a cocky ass. I just laughed to myself. I looked over at my sister and her friend and they were shaking their heads and laughing too. Finally, Gary tapped me on my shoulder to find out what was going on, I bent down and let him know that I didn’t know the guy and turned away. So he immediately got the guys attention and let him know I was with him. Really Gary, you’ve got some balls. Although I had no interest in any romantic interest in him, Gary seemed like a genuinely sweet man.  Hopefully he’ll find some average height woman out there.

How do you feel about a height difference? As a woman, would you date a man shorter than you? As a man, do you feel emasculated by a woman who is taller than you after she puts on heels? What about if she’s taller than you without heels?

**In relation to me, any man under 6 ‘0″ is short.

42 Comments leave one →
  1. Kerry Crenshaw permalink*
    September 8, 2010 10:17 am

    Short men love tall women… because all men love tall women. Gift. Curse.

    I always wonder how they don’t feel as awkward as we do? It’s like “You’re short… move…” But they’re like “oh you’re tall! Come here!”

  2. September 8, 2010 12:30 pm

    i really feel for short dudes sometimes. it’s like tall women obviously want tall men. then on the flip side i’ve seen women that were 5’2″ talking about i can’t date a man under 6’0. it really isn’t fair to them because they can’t control their height. but then again life isn’t fair. i’m just blessed that although my dad is 5’8″ and my mom is 5’4″ that i’m 6’6″. whenever people see me with my parents they wonder where i get my height from. i’m just glad that God blessed me.

    to answer your question if i met a woman taller than me i wouldn’t date her. sorry i don’t want a woman eclipsing 6’7″. chances are she won’t be attractive.

  3. September 8, 2010 12:40 pm

    Date who you’re attracted to and who you can get. I’m all for it. That said, I don’t need to EVER hear a woman who feels this way accusing men of being shallow or superficial. Ever. Deal?

    • September 8, 2010 3:07 pm

      No deal. I am shallow AND superficial. As you can see some women don’t mind the height difference, but I am not one of them. It is quite superficial of me to say these things but oh well.

  4. September 8, 2010 12:53 pm

    Well, I’m somewhat petite, so I don’t usually have the problem of men being shorter than me. In the last year I dated a guy who was 5’7″ and a guy who was 6’2″. So it depends. But I do admit the shorter man probably has a little less of an advantage. I am a face girl, I love a man with a pretty face.

    • September 8, 2010 1:10 pm

      please don’t ever tell a man you dated he has a pretty face. men prefer the word handsome or at the very least cute.

  5. September 8, 2010 2:09 pm

    Being that I stand at a statuesque 5’4.5 if a man was shorter than me we would have SERIOUS PROBLEMS! I have dated a man that was 5’7 because I could wear 3 inch heels and he would be taller than me BUT I still wanted a man that was at least 5’9. I just happened to luck up and find one that was 6’3 which definitely fulfills the height requirement. I agree Silent, short men don’t even get the short end of the stick nowadays.

  6. September 8, 2010 2:14 pm

    I’m not super stuck on height but I think my minimum would have to be 5’8 (I’m 5’9 without heels and I like to wear heels). I don’t think it’s terribly realistic in LA to be extremely strict about wanting really tall men, because most of the men out here are short. I think when you are SiSi’s height there is a slight advantage because I think a lot of tall men are intrigued and attracted by that height. When you live in LA people assume that if you are tall, pretty, and in shape you are a model (or a model wannabe) so that’s something a lot more men find alluring (both short and tall men).

    • September 8, 2010 3:00 pm

      ” When you live in LA people assume that if you are tall, pretty, and in shape you are a model (or a model wannabe) so that’s something a lot more men find alluring (both short and tall men).”

      I’m gonna assume that line is about me…awww. shucks…thanks Reecie 😉

      • September 8, 2010 3:02 pm

        “I don’t think it’s terribly realistic in LA to be extremely strict about wanting really tall men, because most of the men out here are short.”

        I beg to differ. I feel like there are sooooo many tall men in LA…I love that about this town. I know when I visited Miami and Atlanta especially (the home of the short shorts) I couldn’t wait to return home so I wouldn’t have to break my neck looking at the mini-me’s.

      • September 9, 2010 2:23 pm

        You think LA has a lot of tall men?!!!! We must not be going to the same places because I feel like I rarely see tall men out here! But then again whenever I’ve gone out with you it seems like there were more tall men than usual so maybe you just have good luck with that. When I visited Miami and ATL there were a lot of tall guys! lol.

  7. ricky permalink
    September 8, 2010 6:24 pm

    As a short guy by a woman’s standards 5’6″ I love being short.. Shopping is easy my size is always available Haha. But the whole I am not tall enough to have a conversation with line is getting old. Sorry I like legs lady and for some reason only taller women have great legs. Also I love a challenge so yes I will try and no, being told no is not going to phase me.

    • Kerry Crenshaw permalink*
      September 9, 2010 11:49 am

      Damn you Ricky!

  8. September 9, 2010 2:49 pm

    I’m a smooth 5’4. I don’t know why, but short men (5’9 and under) love me. I’ve even dated a man shorter than me. I’ve never had a height requirement. I don’t think it’s needed since I’m a couple of inches away from midget myself. I have found that men under 6′ aren’t cocky assholes.
    And Ricky, short women can have great legs too.

    • ricky permalink
      September 9, 2010 9:25 pm

      Yes I have met many of short women with great legs but they are not as commonly found as they are on tall women.. P.s. I merely am infatuated with tall women but I love a short woman’s ability to own a room

  9. Kerry Crenshaw permalink*
    September 10, 2010 7:49 am

    “I have found that men under 6′ aren’t cocky assholes.”

    hmmmm interesting…

  10. September 20, 2010 5:30 pm

    first off, fat niggas is always on some Extraaaa nice shit. they’re facebook comments be the same way “Your beauty is the sun.” You work that personality fat boy, hats off to you. Forever in a race with the Friend Zone.
    secondly, im short as hell. 5’5, 5’6 in timberlands short. (by the way, are those back in style yet? lmao) i hafta agree that LA is a short mans shangri la of sorts. but then again its to the point that i barely even notice tall girls anymore. i figure we’ve come to an evolutionary understanding: i wont waste your time and/or strain your back trying to talk to you romantically, and in turn you keep the “awww, hes so cute i just wanna put him in my pocket” down to a dull roar while im trying to woo your shorter friend. i think its a win win situation.

  11. Tanner permalink
    October 3, 2010 3:44 am

    I’m short. I’m between 5″1-5″5. I really am not sure exactly how tall I am. When people ask me how tall I am, I don’t exactly know how to answer them…you know…….”WITH or without my wallabees on,” is probably what I should say? Anyway, people, come on, have we as a society, really become this shallow? I don’t know about you, but I’d prefer to enjoy being with my partner for the rest of our lives.

  12. mike permalink
    November 29, 2010 8:59 pm

    5’7 isn’t even that short. I’m 6’1but You sound like a real bitch that judges everyone. 6’4 is a litttttle ridiculous for a woman so maybe if you weren’t a sasquatch lookin bitch, you wouldn’t pass judgement so much on shorter men. You need to put your focus on more important things in life rather than sitting on your computer writing articles about your clubbing adventures as a sasquatch and seeing an ‘overweight’ and ‘short’ man.

    • November 29, 2010 11:44 pm

      Hi Mike,

      Thank you for visiting our blog. I see that I’ve hit a nerve and that’s great. It makes for great conversation. As I noted, in relation to my sasquatch self, 5 ‘7″ is short. And you’re right, 6 ‘4″ is a bit ridiculous for a woman, but who am I to fight with nature. I embrace it and add a little extra umph (5 inches) when I can. Its fun.

      The blog is public diary, and I hope you find your way here again. We always appreciate new eyes.

      Silent

  13. christine r permalink
    November 29, 2010 9:08 pm

    I don’t think 5’7-5’8 is really that short,its just about average to be honest. I think there’s more to a guy than his height. I like humor, good body, fun to be around, interesting, and friendly guys who will care for me. I wouldn’t turn a guy down soley because of his height. Most really good looking men tend to be on the shorter side in my experience at least.

    • December 20, 2010 10:28 am

      There are plenty of attractive tall men in L.A. hence why we have so much to blog about. If you don’t care about height then more power to you.

  14. jade permalink
    November 30, 2010 6:54 am

    Its a shame because am 5’8..average and I swear short guys always find me..Then when I do go out with them I wear flats because I don’t want it to look odd..but after reading this post no more sacrifices.

  15. Valentine permalink
    December 8, 2010 9:23 am

    Hello everyone!

    I am new here, I recently started dating a gentleman from the Airforce. He is 5’7″ and I am 5’5″ with looong legs…but i LOVE 4inch heels. I dont care for flats. He says I should tone it down some and wear 2inch heels… I am 47 & he’s 56 I still want to be sexy at my age. Is there anything wrong with that? He is a Leo and seems a bit controling.

    • December 20, 2010 10:26 am

      There is nothing wrong with that. You should do whatever makes you comfortable. I was just stating my preferences. I don’t side-eye couples where the woman is taller than the man. I just know its not for me. And I’ve tried it so I’m knocking it.

      But girl do you!

  16. Isaac permalink
    December 17, 2010 7:41 pm

    A lot of tall chicks have way too much attitude for my likeness. Then again, most chicks have too much attitude, short ones included. Why all the hate for the short guys ladies? I guess y’all would sooner make love to a pair of heels than finding happiness with someone shorter than you. By the way, I don’t lie about my 5’5 frame. I embrace it! Women who don’t like me can kiss my a$$ and go f**k themselves. What you see is what you get! I’ll bet the tall chicks waiting in vain for their even taller Prince Charmings’ are probably f**cking themselves with their stash of toys while the short and tiny chicks are out slutting around on all the tall guys with pedophilic tendencies. This is my main reason for filtering out the short chicks who feverishly try to get pregnant in their late 20’s/early 30’s. What? Short guys are worth dating now? Puhhhhhhhleeeeeeese! These short women don’t have the good looks to pick and choose who they want anymore and their wombs are usually too poluted to conceive. At the same time, there’s enough tall chicks with dried eggs who don’t give a rats a$$ about a mans height. Those are the ladies who are a safe bet for good screw!

  17. Cash Tidwell permalink
    February 7, 2011 11:22 pm

    Ok. I’ve read every comment and here’s a comment from a short (5’7″) white male.

    I’ve had a great life. Yes, I have tall friends that have probably done better than me if we sit down and tally up and evaluate our experience with the opposite sex. But, I don’t really care. I’ve tried to never let it affect me when I am out meeting girls. I’m fully grown and I am not going to get any taller. Maybe some shorter guys can take this as advise. Just say fuck it! haha. seriously though, make the best of your life and things will fall in line. Although, there are other factors that come into play. I work out, have a nice smile and out-going personality. So, I guess that helps me, but I still am short. What I have done is found my niche (7s to 9s) haha if you want to put a numerical value on women. I have been with a couple of 10s, but they are hard to come by.
    To women, I understand the whole wanting a tall man. It makes perfect sense. That’s why I tend to go after short girls. Although, I have dated girls my same height. They seemed ok with it and we always had fun.
    Anyway…Finding the best “you” (not trying to sound homo) is the way to go. Find it, stick with it and life will be a whooole lot of fun.
    Later y’all!

  18. Sweetcheeks80 permalink
    February 16, 2011 8:12 pm

    Read each and every one of these comments with an open mind, and I gotta say…some -if not most- women are pretty shallow. Shouldn’t what’s on the inside that truly matters? I am 5’8 and my boyfriend is 5’5. He’s short, but that doesn’t make him less of a person. Ladies, be open-minded, please. UGH…you’re giving women like me a bad name.

  19. Paco permalink
    April 14, 2011 1:21 pm

    North American women behave like Neanderthals any time shorter men are the subject of discussion. Their European, South American, and Middle Eastern sisters put them to shame anyways because I find they care a lot less about height and more about the man himself. Notice the divorce rate in the US and Canada is at an all time high and steadily climbing?! It doesn’t surprise considering Hollywood is the epicenter of plastic surgery and pretentiousness. People in this state are always trying to fix the unnecessaries based on popular opinion. Florida is just as bad.

  20. ANONYMOUS permalink
    July 22, 2011 11:36 am

    i’m 5′ & 3″ and no american woman want to date me, referring to woman that is not old nor diseased nor fat nor [not healthy].

  21. Jimmy permalink
    August 12, 2011 6:35 am

    Listen, Im 5’9 male..I’ve been with all kinds of girls and I dont care how tall they are because I MYSELF am secure with who I am..BUT a TALL WOMAN LOVES TALL MEN..We men who are under 6foot shouldn’t judge them by that? Do you homegirl, get one of them lakers dudes haha..theres plenty of short-ish average girls out there for guys my height..and btw even though I dont mind getting down with a tall girl, when I settle down..she has to be shorter than me,,,its just..evolution I guess haha,

  22. Wardie permalink
    August 14, 2011 5:03 pm

    i dont get whats so bad about shorter guys. I mean im 5’8 so could be classed as short by some but whats the big deal? Height dont mean owt/

  23. ANONYMOUS permalink
    November 12, 2011 7:38 pm

    HEIGHT REPRESENTS MONEY, IS WHAT WOMEN ARE ATTRACTED TO. WESTERN WOMEN FIGURED OUT THAT TALL MEN ARE RICHER THAN SHORT MEN ON THE AVERAGE, IS WHY MOST WESTERN WOMEN GO FOR TALL OR TALLER GUYS, IS ABOUT MONEY, WOULD MAKE ALL WOMEN PROSTITUTES: WHY POLICE LET IT ? MEANING IF YOU WANT TO RID OF PROSTITUTION, THEN RID OF THE POLICE, IS SOURCE OF PROSTITUTION, BECAUSE POLICE ARE SIMPLY PIMPS IN UNIFORM.

    • saif (sef) permalink
      August 4, 2012 6:30 pm

      AHHH MY GOD CAPS LOCK!!!!!!

  24. Anon permalink
    December 10, 2011 8:58 am

    What a silly thing to judge a man by. Oh well, that just means less competition for me where hot, caring intelligent men are concerned… if they’re short. Your loss!

  25. GB333 permalink
    April 3, 2012 4:11 pm

    This post is old, but I will make a comment anyway.

    I’m a 5’5″ male. I married young, but recently I divorced after 12 years. I never really thought that I was “too short” when I was younger. I actually did as well or better than most of my taller friends. I wasn’t a player, but I could hold my own, and I never went for that player mentality. (oh and the divorce was a lot due to having nothing in common. After the newness of having lots of great sex wore off, we just didn’t hang out at all, or like the same things. We remain friends)

    Now that I am back out and looking, dating websites seem to be the way to go.

    Okay so all that background so that I could say this:

    I don’t mind if a women prefers or even demands that a guy be taller than her. Maybe even the 4″ rule. Short guys just don’t always look good next to taller women.

    What has bothered me are the 4’11”- 5’1″ women that demand 6′ and taller. My ex was 5′ and I still had a couple inches on her when she wore 5″ hills(with me wearing shoes, that gives at least 1″). When I wore my boots giving me at least 1.5″ I still felt taller next to her.

    I don’t have any hate for a 5′ tall women that meets a 6′ or taller man and they just click. But to demand it… If it was uncommon then I wouldn’t care. But it is very common on dating websites.

    I guess if you are just not sexually attracted to him’ well it can’t be helped. But if it is some sort of self hate at your own self for being short. Or if you just think that much of yourself, I really believe you are missing out.

    I’m not worried. I am dating a women now and it seems to be working out. We click on everything. I think it would be more serious, but I want to take it slow and make sure it will last. But I still feel… well I guess I have a bit of a chip on my shoulder. No other way to put it. But it happens when a 4’11” women tells you that you need to be 6′ to talk to her.

  26. Cherry permalink
    June 12, 2012 10:28 am

    My boyfriend was about an inch shorter than me, and of course he lied about how tall he was which made me confused for several years about my height. It never occurred to me that he was lying.

    If Napolean hadn’t invent the Napolean Complex, this guy would have and we’d be saying Robsakian Complex instead right now. Because of him and his massive insecurity, I never want to go out with another guy who is shorter than me, even though I am often attracted to them.

    I know tall men can also be insecure, although none of the taller men I’ve dated have been such a massive pain in my ass.

  27. Cherry permalink
    June 12, 2012 10:31 am

    PS He had an attitude sort of like Isaac up there. The chip on the shoulder. So unattractive.

  28. Will permalink
    November 9, 2012 6:13 pm

    My sister is like 5’2 and discriminates against short guys. That is fine but when she wants to hang out with me I find excuses not to. In fact I will never have anything to do with her again and I think all short guys should do the same. She also has a low IQ and I genuinely don’t like her. In front of my dad I feign a love for her only for my the sake of my dad.

  29. Zaaap permalink
    May 10, 2013 10:32 am

    Thank you for confirming that women are way WAY more shallow then men.

Leave a Reply

