Skip to content

Track Record

November 30, 2010


A man’s taste in women says a lot about him. It lets us know whether he likes his ego stroked, if he’s manipulative, superficial, or if just likes whores. It gives us something to compare ourselves to. But does it determine what type of woman we are?

Yet another LA-is-too-damn-small-story…

As per usual our weekday festivities, my two guy friends and I were planning to go out to happy hour. They told me there were bringing a girl, Lisa. I have no problem when new females tag along since I usually end up be-friending them anyway. But from the moment this girl got into my car and opened her mouth I knew we would have nothing in common. I’m a pretty good judge of character when it comes to women. And she was your typical L.A. girl, ridiculously long weave, fake boobs, big Louis bag (so I’m not sure she was wearing a Louis bag, but I’m sure she owns one, a big one too lol)

Anyway, when we arrived at the restaurant she kept calling my guy friends babe which really confused me, it’s a term of endearment, but was she boning both of them? Knowing my guy friends, well, no comment. She also had almost nothing intelligent to say. Then she asked to follow me on Twitter. I hand her my phone and she types in her Twitter name, and up pops her profile pic, a “modeling” face down ass up pic. WOW! If I didn’t think she was rachet* before I definitely thought she was now. So at this point I’m teasing my guy friend via BBM,“Where did you find this girl?,” “She needs a mentor.” At one point she asked me if I had ever messed with another girl! …because that’s appropriate conversation for a girl I just met *sarcasm.*

I’m also having another slightly tipsy convo with Retread, who has an extensive history with L.A. girls. I tell him about her rachet behavior and tease him saying he might even know her:

Me: I’m emailing you her Twitter profile pic, you probably know her lol

Retread: Why I gotta know her?

Me: You know a lot of girls….some rachet some not lol

Retread: Just got it, I feel like a dumb ass

Me: Why you know her?

Retread: I dated her…runaway

Me: LMAO

So Lisa is an ex of Retread, my current…uhhh…”friend” *confused BBM icon.* Then I started to think about how this made me look, if he dated her and now he’s my uhhhh “friend” *confused BBM icon,* what does that say about me? Lisa clearly has “daddy issues” (not saying that’s an excuse for girls to act out but that’s just the term I’m going to use), low self esteem, and isn’t the brightest crayon in the box. I called him and let him explain his terrible taste in women. He said she was the last girl he dated that was “like that.” I guess I’m to believe he has stepped up his game in the quality of women he associates himself with. Riiiiight.

*Rachet 1. Can be used to describe something that looks slutty or trash. 2. a disgusting female; original source is likely a corruption of “rat shit” or “wretched.” Ratchet is a much more substantial insult than “bitch” or “ho,” and much more likely to give offense or be considered a “fighting” word.

What do your exes say about you?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2010 11:05 am

    Of course he has changed the quality of women he’s dating. He’s dating you now. Duh! Major upgrade!

  2. November 30, 2010 11:18 am

    **new blog commenter**

    I think it’s safe to say that you should not compare yourself to the other women your “friends” or actual boyfriends have dated (as hard as this may be). I think you may be masking your own insecurities by trying to out Lisa’s preceived ones. Believe him when he says that he isn’t into chicks like Lisa anymore – otherwise he wouldn’t be seeing you. We all have insecurities but that doesn’t make us comparable. On another note what does it say about your other girl friends that hang around with this chick?

    I love the blog btw!

  3. Grace Adler permalink*
    November 30, 2010 11:44 am

    Lol it says that they can be pigs at times. Still love them there’s a reason why they are JUST my guy friends.

    I agree I shouldn’t compare myself to his exes it’s just crazy that he would go from her to me. I hope I didn’t sound insecure in pointing out the many things wrong with Lisa. I was only trying to explain how different her and I were. Like Silent said I’m an upgrade *sings Beyonce-upgrade you* 🙂

    • November 30, 2010 1:26 pm

      Exactly! An upgrade…we all do it from time to time (or should). So in a way you should be celebrating this accomplishment with your boo. Toast to him! LOL!

  4. Jane permalink
    November 30, 2010 12:59 pm

    My ex’s say I fight fair.
    I don’t make shit up, and I only fight with facts not assumptions.
    I’m loyal to a fault and never jealous and my bum burps NEVER smell. 🙂
    ……..yet, I’m single., for now.

  5. Mr. Fantastic permalink
    November 30, 2010 3:17 pm

    Ay, everybody has phases. What you’re looking for is different in those different phases. It is very improbable that all your exes are the same. And at LEAST one of them is the downgrade to your current uhhh…”friend” *confused BBM icon.* So let it ride for what it was, because at the end of the day, the other part of it is, she’s an EX… for a reason.

Leave a Reply

