Skip to content

Uh…. Awkward…

February 7, 2011
by

I can be very awkward at times, especially when it comes to guys. It seems like in dating there’s always some new hurdle to tackle and I’m never equipped with the right tools to deal with the situations.

For instance, the other day my homegirl asked me about my current dating life which, sadly enough, is barely existent. All the guys who I “talk” to are so whatever and for the most part I feel like if my feelings don’t change toward them soon I might as well cut them off. All of them. But I’ve never had to do this before…

Seriously, I’ve never been talking to guys who are cute, cool, kind of funny, that I’m just not attracted to (didn’t even know this was possible, especially in this day and age where there’s a shortage of these types) ….so now what? Is it rude if I just suddenly stop answering my phone? (of course it is) Do I have to call them or send a text to say that I’m no longer interested (I’m sure that’s doing the most). Or do I just friend zone them? Tell them about this new guy I’m seeing (that’s sure to send the message/confuse the hell out of them)…

But seriously, I’m leaning toward the cold shoulder strategy, just not picking up the phone as much. Is that wrong/rude of me?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2011 3:48 pm

    yes its rude. lol but sometimes it has to be done.

  2. Just Saying permalink
    February 7, 2011 5:04 pm

    Friend zone them only if you actually want to BE FRIENDS with them… otherwise you’re leaving them on the hook.

    Otherwise politely tell them you’ve enjoyed chatting etc, but do not really think you have all that much in common. See what they have to say from there.

    Good luck.

    • Kerry Crenshaw permalink*
      February 8, 2011 1:44 pm

      Awkward! I hate having serious talks… I’d rather just disappear. Funny though, I wonder… If I’m feeling this way, it seems like they should be as well. Like you have to know we have 0 chemistry right?

  3. February 7, 2011 10:33 pm

    Personally, I prefer telling the person, but that’s because whenever I’M the one being blown off, I always get so annoyed and think “seriously?! they couldn’t have just sent a text explaining the situation?!” I like both honesty and closure, so I give them in hopes that someday I’ll receive them.

    • Kerry Crenshaw permalink*
      February 8, 2011 1:44 pm

      Yeah… I feel you on the closure thing. I at least owe them that.

Leave a Reply

