Skip to content

Man that is one sexy man…you see all that talent!

March 28, 2011

I think I’m standing alone on this island that thinks fair skinned, red haired, freckle faced Blake Griffin is attractive.

*Crickets*

Yeah I thought so. After a group chat with Kerry and Grace I had to re-evaluate my tastes. Not change them per se but acknowledge what makes a man attractive in my eyes. And for the most part, it has hardly anything to do with physical characteristics. The last guy that had (still has) my heart skip a beat when we talk is will not be found on the cover of Essence magazine alongside Idris Alba and Boris Kodjoe. He is 6 foot 4 ½ but weighs a little less than me, has bad acne and wears thick glasses that put mine to shame. When I first met him I was mostly attracted to:

  1. Our Conversation. We could talk and talk and talk for hours on end without as much as a pause. I remember a few weeks ago in Vegas I had the same thing happen. I met a guy and we just clicked so, I thought he was cute. After what I felt was a short convo, my girls pulled me away. Them: “He is not cute!” Me: What?! Yes he is. Them:  “You’re tripping.”
  2. His Ambition. If a man excels at his field and is enthusiastic about it, I’m in. I guess this explains my obsession for Blake Griffin. I can appreciate his talent and love for the game.

How can I gauge these things within just a few minutes of knowing someone, you may ask? Easy, I just do. I already know the kind of guys I like, and I find em. I guess I should add one more bullet point:

3. Quirky Flaw. Sometimes I can’t explain why I’m attracted to quirky looking men. I had the hugest crush on Tracy McGrady in junior high and high school all because of his droopy eyes. Yes his puppy dogs eyes were so damn cute to me. Weird to most but for me, when there is something a little off about a guy, it so cute.

To each there own right.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Tamara permalink
    March 28, 2011 5:39 pm

    I can almost agree with you on this. No, not the Blake Griffin thing, but quirky flaws, ambition and conversation. I do have the usual type that I think is gorgeous like you mentioned Idris Alba and Boris Kodjoe. I think Gerard Way is hot because he reminds me of a guy from high school. But I also like guys that most would pick on for looking nerdy. I even have a t-shirt that says “Talk Nerdy to Me”.

  2. March 30, 2011 2:28 pm

    If it makes you feel less weird, I’m a sucker for men with big ears…yes, big ears…Like Will Smith’s dumbo ears that stick out drive me absolutely wild!!!

  3. Kerry permalink*
    April 6, 2011 12:03 pm

    ew

Leave a Reply

